The Letter Project

May 31, 2009

Special Delivery (04)

Filed under: Letters — Theresa Williams @ 12:04 pm
Tags:

This is a letter I sent to my husband while I was at Provincetown last summer.  I was granted a Residency by the Ohio Arts Council.  During the residency I worked on my second novel, tenatively titled, The Last Mysteries of the World.  One beautiful thing about the Residency is that it was the first time I had ever lived on my own.  I married at 18–TW

Sunday June 22, 2008 (24 Pearl Street, Fine Arts Work Center, Provincetown, MA  02657)

6:46 p.m.

Dear Allen,

I was able to take a nice walk on the beach yesterday evening.  I didn’t get started until nearly 8:00, which turned out to be perfect because it was very cool and the tide was the lowest I’ve seen it since I’ve been here.  There was hardly anyone out on the beach!  I walked a good ways, turned around and walked back.  I got back to the apartment and settled on the couch to write and when I got up there was a pile of sand on the couch that had come out of my pants.  That was the same thing you did when you were here.

It’s been threatening rain today and it has rained a little.  I was able to walk to the PO to mail your latest letter.  I was surprised at how crowded it was for a Sunday.  I guess it’s going to keep getting more and more crowded no matter what day I go out.  It was a nice walk, though.  It’s humid, but the air is cool on the arms.  The tide was high, so I didn’t go out on the beach.  For supper I sautéed some onions and threw in a can of chili beans.  I had some fruit salad for desert.  Not too shabby!

Today is Sunday so a new crew of summer students came in today.  They are all in the meeting space getting their orientation now.  Every once in a while I hear them clapping.  There’s supposed to be a BBQ, of course, but with this weather I’m not sure what they will do.  Before they got here, though, I was able to take out my recycling and my trash.

I’ve noticed that I feel much healthier here, more rested and I have more energy.  At home I get out of bed and say to myself, “I’m tired, why am I so tired?”  But here I get up and ask myself, “What am I going to do [accomplish] today?”  Granted, I move at a slow pace, but I get much more done, and I exercise and feel much more sure-footed. 

Well, I’m going to get cracking on the book now.  Will write more soon.  Xxxoxoxoxoo

Theresa

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

