The Letter Project

October 25, 2009

Special Delivery (29)

Filed under: Mailart — Theresa Williams @ 12:57 am
Tags: ,
Front

Front

Center
Center
Back

Back

Photographs, prismacolor markers, colored pencils, and rubber stamps on Strathmore paper.

This is an illustrated letter I made for Lauren Carpenter.    The title of the letter is “In Response to Your Comments on writing about suffering.”  The front image is a photograph of Cristo with Mourning Figures.   It’s a photo I took at the Millicent Rogers Museum in Taos, NM.  This museum has a large collection of Hispanic devotional art (art that really speaks to me).  In the top corners are lemons, bottom corners hummingbirds. 

Inside the card is a scanned image of a postcard I sent to myself from New Mexico.  On the card I attempted to explain my idea of what the sculpture says about human suffering.

On the back is a photograph of a bird’s nest with eggs.  The image is partially in response to Lauren’s comment about birds (see letter 28).  I took the photo one day after I’d been working in my flower garden.  I went inside the house briefly and when I returned to the garden, the nest had already been invaded.

In the letter I try to put Lauren at ease.  Writers will always write about suffering; it’s natural to want to do so.  We do this as a way to order our thoughts because chaos is terrifying to us.  I told her that at some point she will want to write about joy again, too. 

  • Not in the letter but perhaps of interest:  Writers may enjoy the books Poetry As Survival by Gregory Orr and Writing as a Way of Healing by Louise DeSalvo. 
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

