The Letter Project

February 2, 2011

Special Delivery (74)

Filed under: Letters — Theresa Williams @ 12:22 am
Tags: , ,

I received this delightful letter today from Jim Lampe.  It is always good to know that your students are continuing to write after they graduate.  Here, Jim describes his process and his progress with writing and with life.  –TW

Theresa–

How are you??

If my calculations are right, it’s been too long.  The last time I wrote to you, it was 110 [degrees] farenheit, and I had to keep a fan trained on the paper to keep the ink from ink from running in the humidity.  [see what happens when you spend all day in a cubicle??  My brain is a looped piece of tape.]  I had just started my insurance practice with New York Life, and hadn’t written a damn.

Fortunately, I’m writing again, with more air in my lungs than I can honestly handle.  I will tell you one thing for sure:  Brautigan was the best name you ever dropped!  I have gotten in a routine of writing down  a chapter from “Trout Fishing” word for word every Sunday evening.  This month, I have produced about fifteen new poems, fifteen of which I am pleased about.

As far as my business practice goes, things are booming!  I’m now up to a net worth of –55 dollars!  (Such success is hardly even noted in the concept of the American Dream.)

I hope all is well in Northern Ohio this winter.

Please wear a coat–

Jim

P. S.  I was going to send you  a letter with a golden rooster on it, but I lost the paper.

1 Comment »

  1. Reminds me of James Wright who also copied poems and passages to feed his creative soul. It worked for James, now works for Jim, so I’ll try it. Thanks, Jim. Good luck with the numbers games.

    Comment by sagewriter — February 5, 2011 @ 3:38 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

