The Letter Project

July 10, 2011

Special Delivery (83)

Filed under: Letters — Theresa Williams @ 2:04 am
Tags: , ,

Suzy Anderson sends a letter in response to the crow announcement card (82)

July 8, 2011

Dear Theresa,

Thank you so much for “Crow in the Rain” and sharing your poem “Reading Winesburg.” The quote from Anatole Broyard certainly hits home that everybody wants something. Without wants, why would we need to move forward? Wanting something gives us a goal to aim for, a destination to travel to. 

I agree that “The best things happen when you aren’t trying so hard.” Congratulations on getting “Reading Winesburg” accepted for publication!

I’m having a wonderful summer. I’m copy editing at the BG News, and I just got a job at Meijer. I’ve read several books and written more than I have in past summers. Since writing every day this year, it feels easier by now to sit down and put something on paper. No writer’s block for me!

I’ve picked up finger painting for a novel idea. It’s fun to get my hands dirty and create a vibrant picture. I learned how to knit hats. It only took six hours to make one.  

Alice’s Adventure is one of my favorites in “Winesburg, Ohio.” I also enjoyed “A Man of Ideas” and “Loneliness.” I like how all of the sections connect back to George Willard. It would be interesting if some of his articles were included so I could see how much the Associated Press Style has developed since then! As a journalism minor, seeing the process of journalism in the past is fascinating.

It’s amazing that even though times change, the inner lives of humans have stayed consistent with hopes, fears, and wants. 

I hope you’re enjoying your summer as much as I am.

Love, 

Suzy

2 Comments »

  1. […] out the letter I wrote to […]

    Pingback by The Letter Project–Letter to Theresa | Suzanna and Writing — July 7, 2014 @ 6:02 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

