The Letter Project

December 16, 2011

Special Delivery (161)

Filed under: Letters — Theresa Williams @ 8:10 pm
Tags: , ,

20 November 2011

Dear Whitney,

Thank you so much for your letter. I’m glad you liked the painting. I picked up finger painting over the summer as research for a novel. Letters have helped me open up to Theresa, so hopefully what we do through letters will help. We can talk about anything. And that’s beautiful for me because we are not limited. We can share an interesting experience, a piece of writing, and more. We could pick an author’s letters and talk about them. Who do we want to start with, James Wright, Pablo Picasso, Jack Kerouac, etc.? I own a selection of Hemingway’s letters (picked it up from Grounds—I was so excited when I saw it) and currently I have Pushkin’s from the library. Last fall in Modern Poetry I studied Robert Frost, and he wrote letters too.

 I love “Brave New World”! It is actually one of my favorite books. I really connected to John too. I agree with “I think we’ve all been entranced by words, the beauty of language.” It is one of the many reasons why I write. It’s fun to discover new words and use them. I’m glad “innocent love” helped you with your thesis. Hopefully I can find it too when I work on my thesis next semester.

 I don’t think I would take soma because I can’t swallow pills. I’ve tried using different techniques to learn, but it hasn’t clicked yet. Regardless I wouldn’t take soma; I prefer to experience the pain (unless it’s really bad) because it shows me how to describe pain when my characters experience it. I can describe a sprained finger pretty well now. Tuesday I’m going to the doctor for a follow-up exam. We’ll see if I can take the splint off.

 We shouldn’t look away as writers, yes. I love how you said “…eyes taped open for clarity.” That is so true, and it is a wonderful image. Without experiencing the world around us, how can we write about it?

 I tend to read several books at the same time. Right now I’m reading books for class and “Show Up, Look Good” by Mark Wisniewski. It’s about a girl who moves to New York City on a whim after she dumps her fiancé. The narrative voice is original and hilarious.  

I usually write my letters by hand, so I apologize for only typing this one. And I plan to do mail art too, so expect art in your mailbox.

 Have a great Thanksgiving!

 Suzy

1 Comment »

  1. […] out the letter I wrote to my friend Whitney. https://theletterproject.wordpress.com/2011/12/16/special-delivery-161/ Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

    Pingback by The Letter Project–November Letter to Whitney « Suzanna and Writing — December 17, 2011 @ 4:09 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

