The Letter Project

July 8, 2012

Special Delivery (329)

Filed under: Letters — Theresa Williams @ 10:35 pm
Tags: , ,

Suzy’s latest response to Whitney about traveling, finger painting, and good reads:

3 July 2012

Dear Whitney,

I hope you had a wonderful birthday!

It is a great quote! I need to keep reminding myself of it. That short story is really the first piece I recall following through without worrying about expectation. Reading is like a puzzle (as is watching films). It’s fun for me to guess what’s coming next (and it’s disappointing when I get it right). But it’s a fun surprise to be wrong because the writer/director outsmarted me. Your first flight sounds amazing. After flying to New Orleans in April, I’ve been itching to do it again, even though I don’t particularly care to be cooped up in small places. Hopefully it’ll be Europe next time, or at least international. We will have to make gumbo and cornbread then! I would love to make Grandma Cookies. I love pierogies and paczki, so I would be delighted to try it. 

I really want to read “The Virgin Suicides” now. I’ve always been fascinated by how writers deal with suicide. I even stopped reading one book because I was offended with how the subject was treated. I don’t stop reading a book lightly either. A good one is “You know where to find me.” Of course death doesn’t have to be explained. It is part of the life cycle. Death shouldn’t be scary and desired to be avoided. And there is great literature about death.

I do have a Kindle. I’m so happy I found several classics and poetry collections for free from Amazon. At least I won’t have to lug around heavy volumes when I move. E-books do not entirely replace the experience of reading a book. I need to make it more of a habit to read on the Kindle. Sometimes I don’t take it out for weeks at a time. I’m trying to make it a habit to read one short story and one poem every day. I also continue to visit libraries and bookstores. I’m a book fan for life.

Finger painting. I also love knitting, crochet, beading (keychain animals), finger painting, cooking, drawing, photography, making things out of Popsicle sticks, using clay, pretty much every art form I can get my hands on, including collage. I loved making collages of photos for the junior high school yearbook.  

I’m glad you had a wonderful time in San Diego. Maybe we can make a trip to the Winchester House. I would like to go back to Calif. again. I love the bookmark and hand mirror. I finally reunited all 3 of my Shakespeare collections after visiting my parents last weekend. I do want to read the rest of his plays this summer, so the bookmark is a great way to keep my place. Which ones have you read? I’ve read Romeo and Juliet, Othello, Macbeth, and Much Ado About Nothing. Much Ado About Nothing is my fav so far. I saw Hamlet performed earlier this summer. I’m curious as to how you think the quote fits me, see if it fits my own thoughts. 🙂 Thank you for the postcard! And you are very welcome for the sticker and moose paper. And thanks for the pict of the Globe at Balboa. Happy Birthday!

Suzy

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

