The Letter Project

May 31, 2013

Special Delivery (540)

Filed under: Letters — Theresa Williams @ 3:22 pm
Tags: , ,

 

A Letter from Suzy Anderson to Whitney Reinhard…

20 September 2012

Dear Whitney,

I’ve been ill lately, hence the reason it took so long to write. I’ve been to the doctor and the chiropractor (first time ever!) but I still don’t feel a 100%.

I will have to read “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” then, esp. since I love the epistolary form. Have you ever read “Dear Everybody” by Michael Kimball?

I recently finished a novel (“A True History of the Captivation, Transport to Strange Lands, and Deliverance of Hannah Guttentag”) by Josh Russell as part of my Dzanc internship. It was a quick read and an amazing journey through Hannah Guttentag’s life as a scholar, wife, and mother. Plus I think there is a great benefit to short chapters: the story feels like it is moving fast because the page numbers go by so quickly. Plus it’s an entertaining read. Laughed so much.

Actually I sealed your letter before I realized I forgot to tell you about the Dzanc internship, so that’s why I wrote it as a P.S. on the envelope. My reading assignments have been mostly submissions, and Josh Russell’s novel. I’m also proofreading e-books.

No, I haven’t read “Foe” by J.M. Coetzee. I think I would’ve fought Othello too, if I was Desdemona. Whenever I think about Romeo and Juliet, I would (if I was Juliet) write a letter to my parents saying I married Romeo and left after Nurse said to marry Paris.

Hobby Lobby is definitely one of those places I try to go to for something specific so I leave the store with the item in tow (and hopefully not much else!)

A duct tape festival sounds like great fun! I will have to start practicing.

My mini-vacation will be part birthday celebration part novel research. Since I’ve only driven through Missouri as part of the California trip, I want to explore Charlotte’s hometown of Columbia more thoroughly, particularly art museums and parks. Plus, she drove from Cincinnati, Ohio, to San Diego, California, so I’ll be able to see what it was like for her to drive so far. And then I can visit my family in Cincy and go to the Ohio Renaissance Festival. I love going and went a lot as a kid. It’s been two years since I’ve gone. If you go, definitely check out the Mudde Show. They retell Beowulf and Dante’s Inferno. And they splash mud. It’s pretty awesome and you should check it out when you get a chance.

I also want to go to England! Perhaps we can both save up and go together. The pictures on Facebook look for from your marathons. Congrats on keeping it up! Kudos to you.

I still think of Larissa’s class when I see honey. What a great class! I still remember the day she brought in the skeleton.

It’s a shame The Stately Raven closed. What bookstores should we visit?

Suzy

2 Comments »

  1. […] here for a letter I wrote to […]

    Pingback by The Letter Project–Letter to Whitney | Suzanna and Writing — May 31, 2013 @ 3:29 pm | Reply

  2. I don’t even know what to say, this made things so much earesi!

    Comment by Malerie — January 8, 2015 @ 8:08 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

